Diamond Earrings

Diamond Earrings

Diamonds come in all variety of colors, shapes, sizes, and most importantly, all different levels of quality. When purchasing a pair of diamond earrings, quality is paramount.

Contact us or visit our in-store show room in Merrillville, IN for the highest quality diamond earrings!

You’ve likely heard of the 4 Cs of diamonds before, but you maybe aren’t exactly sure what they mean. Read below to learn more!

“Absolutely phenomenal experience”

I had an absolutely phenomenal experience at AaLand! The staff made me feel totally comfortable and I am so happy with my new earrings! thank you!!.

Gaia Bagordo

How To Buy Diamond Earrings

Because you want to be sure of what you’re getting, we’ve created the following guide to help you easily determine the quality of any diamond using the 4 Cs.

1. Color

When it comes to diamonds, color actually refers to lack of color. Diamonds are rated on a scale from 0 (perfectly colorless) to 10 (light yellow/brown).

The American Gem Society offers this easy color rating:

  • No color: This is the highest quality possible and the most expensive.
  • Near colorless: The diamond will have very little color and will actually appear colorless when mounted.
  • Faint color: At less than 0.50 carats, the diamond appear colorless when mounted. In larger diamonds, some color may be seen.
  • Very light color: The diamond will show some color even when mounted.
  • Light color: Color becomes easier to see as the grade goes from 7.5 to 10.

2. Clarity

Diamonds can have some internal or external flaws known as inclusions and blemishes. These flaws affect the clarity and quality of the diamond.

Clarity is rated as follows:

  • Flawless (FL) diamonds: No inclusions or blemishes.
  • Internally flawless (IF) diamonds: No internal inclusions, but some possible slight surface blemishes.
  • Very, very slightly included (VVS1 and VVS2) diamonds: Small inclusions that are hard to see, even with magnification.
  • Very slightly included (VS1 and VS2) diamond: Minor inclusions that are easy to see when magnified but can’t be seen by the naked eye.
  • Slightly included (SI1 and SI2) diamonds: Inclusions that may be visible even without magnification.
  • Included (I1, (I2, and I3) diamonds: Inclusions that are easily seen by the naked eye.

3. Cut

The cut of a diamond greatly affects its appearance and beauty. Not to be confused with shape, cut refers to how well the diamond’s facets interact with light and the diamond’s overall appearance.

The cut grading is very simple, running from 0 (highest quality) to 10 (poorest):

  • Ideal cut (0)
  • Excellent cut (1)
  • Very Good cut (2)
  • Good cut (3-4)
  • Fair cut (5-7)
  • Poor cut (8-10)

4. Carat Weight

The size of a diamond is measured in carats. This refers to its physical weight. One carat is equal to 1/5 gram.

Unlike the other Cs, there’s nothing subjective about this quality measurement. The scale doesn’t lie! Generally speaking, the more the diamond weighs, the more it will cost (though this does depend on the other ratings).

5. Confidence and Certification

If you want to feel confident in the quality of your diamond, you’ll want to make sure you are buying from a reputable, trusted seller. Look for established jewelers, and be sure to search out reviews before making an online purchase.

Finally, when buying diamond earrings, one of the easiest ways to ensure quality is to check the diamonds’ certification by a third party (such as the Gemological Institute of America). These certificates will provide an independent evaluation of a diamond’s 4 Cs.

Ready to Buy?

Now that you know what to look for when choosing diamond earrings, you’re ready to find the perfect pair for you. AaLand Diamond Jewelers is here to help.

We can create beautiful, one-of-a-kind custom jewelry using your ideas and inspiration. Contact us today to set up a free consultation.

And if you have a diamond you’re looking to sell, we do that too. Get in touch with us to set up an appraisal of your old or unused jewelry.